We’ve all experienced it – the moment right after hitting “send” on a text message only to undergo imminent regret that leads to us asking “why did I write that?”. Fortunately for Apple users, that regret, or embarrassment, no longer needs to live on. With Apple’s iOS 16 update, users will be able to edit or recall iMessages for up to 15 minutes after sending a text. Users will also be able to recover deleted iMessages for up to 30 days after deleting the messages, in addition to being able to mark messages as unread.
New Apple Features Could Lead to Confusion
While all of these new features from Apple seemingly allow users to be more intentional about their communication, the features also create ample opportunity for miscommunication and second-guessing, especially among college students who fire off iMessages at light speed. Imagine, one second a message is there, and the next, it’s gone. Or, just after thinking up the perfect response to a message, you go to type and the message says something different. What about the unread feature – what’s so confusing about that? Any student will admit that having messages unread is practically worse than messages not being responded to at all. It leaves the sender wondering if the recipient is ignoring them on purpose or simply too busy to respond. The “Unread” text message status truly is the real world version of purgatory.
For further questions or clarifications regarding the context of this article, please contact KJK Student & Athlete Defense attorneys Susan Stone (SCS@kjk.com; 216.736.7220) or Kristina Supler (KWS@kjk.com; 216.736.7217).